top of page

Japan 2016 Day 18: Slurping Our Way Out of Japan


Day 18 - 6 June 2016, Monday

Overall itinerary of our eighteenth day

1000 - 1100 : Urbain Tokyo Haneda Kamata, Tokyo >> Haneda Airport

1100 - 1300 : Sitting around, Checking In + Shopping at the Visitor Area at Haneda Airport

1300 - 1430 : Lunch at an Udon restaurant, Haneda Airport

1430 - 1710 : Enter Departure Hall + More Shopping & Waiting around

1710(JPT) - 2305(SGT): Haneda Airport >> Changi Airport (HOME!)

Frankly, we did not do much on our last day. We spent our morning making sure we have packed everything into our luggages before making our way to Haneda Airport. Bought more food souvenirs, slurped down giant bowls of udon, do more shopping and then we were on board the plane flying home.

We arrived at Haneda airport quite early. Thankfully, there are quite a number of shops to entertain us (aka shopping) and there was a flower exhibition too. The flowers were duper pretty, as always expected of such flowers display in Japan.

We were hungry by noon and went around the airport searching for a good place to have our last lunch in Japan. It was then we spotted a snaking queue at this Udon restaurant. A queue is sometimes an indicator of good food, especially when you have not done any research on what to eat at the airport. No surprise, we joined the queue for 20 - 30 minutes and we got in.

This place (I did not manage to get the name of the restaurant) is famous for their gigantic bowls of udon, it's much bigger than my face haha. My friend ordered a bowl of ramen with scrambled egg which came with a plate of tempura. Meanwhile, this udon dish with mentaiko caught my eyes. Hehe, you got to have mentaiko while you are in Japan, right?

They were both as good as they look. Definitely filled our stomach too! Since we still had some time before our flight, we had a 'jelly' dessert too. The 'jelly' stripes are submerged in cold water with tiny ice cubes. Before eating it, we dipped it into this brown sweet sauce. It has quite an unique taste and it is a good dessert to end off a meal too.

Funny thing that happened while we were eating... some Japanese came in to interview us about the food (probably from some food show?). I wondered what happened to the clip, but LOL. It was kind of strange and fascinating at the same time.


I was once again excited to board the plane when the time came. Afterall, it has been 18 days away from home and I am a little tired of walking so much for 18 days. Most of all, I look forward to the airplane meal. This time, I chose to have the Japanese meal which consisted of a pork rice and cold soba. We ended off with a Haagen Daaz ice-cream, woohoo!

Before I turned in for the night, I managed to finish unpacking my loots from Japan. You guessed right if you expected me to pack all the Japanese snacks home. That's exactly what I did, lol.


Okay, I finally finished my Japan 2016 series! Hopefully, I could get another chance to travel there again in the near future. :)

FEATURED POST
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
FOLLOW Stefanie
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page