top of page

Food Review @ Antoinette

Internship is over! No time to fret over work when all that is on my mind now is ... as you can guess it, FOOD. One place which has been tugging on my heartstrings since the start of May is Antoinette. Images of croissants exploding with lava of unique flavours have been appearing on my Instagram all-day-er-day!

Without further ado, let me share with you what we had at Antoinette! We visited Antoinette at its Penhas Branch on the afternoon of a weekday. Before going for the desserts, we decided to order a main meal for each of us first.

Since I was craving for scrambled egg and salmon fish, I chose to have Smoked Salmon Fish with scrambled egg ($15.50). It comes together with a slice of homemade toasted Pain de Mie, cut into 2 triangle pieces. The combination of toasted bread topped with creamy scrambled eggs and a slice of smoked salmon could never go wrong!

Here is another picture of the yummy brunch I had! Moreover, the portion is just right which means that I still have stomach space for desserts.

As for my friend, she also had an All-Day Breakfast - Smoked Duck Breast with poached eggs ($15). Hidden beneath all those leaves, there are 2 poached eggs, some sauteed mushrooms ragout with herbs and bits of toasted Levain croutons. The Levain croutons tasted sweet and somehow, just pretty familiar but I could not remember where I had tasted it before.

If you are thinking where are the two poached eggs, here it is!

We had a great time poking at the poached egg, and then snapchatting the egg yolk flowing out. Well, don't judge us but we love flowing egg yolk!

Here is a closer shot of the awesome poached egg:

Once we finished out mains at Antoinette, it is time for some delectable croissants! If you are like us (desserts gluttons), do head out to the front of the store to where all desserts are to make your pick of croissants.

When we visited Antoinette, there was 4 different flavours of croissants which we could choose from: Quatre Fromages Croissant ($7), Grand Cru Chocolate Croissant ($7), Salted Yolk Lava Croissant ($6.50) and Matcha Croissant ($6).

Since the size of croissants are quite large, the two of us shared two croissants. My recent flavour obsessions are salted yolk and matcha, so it is no surprise that we went for the Salted Yolk Croissant and Matcha Croissant.

Just by its exterior, I could tell that the croissant is going to be a crispy one. In other words, it is gonna be AWESOME!

The Salted Yolk Lava Croissant was first served to our table.

We were expecting that once the croissant is cut, salted yolk lava would just flow out onto the plate. Ahem, it did not. The following picture is only captured after I nudged the croissant on its top with my knife. Oops.

However, the taste of the Salted Yolk Lava Croissant still met our expectations. The salted yolk lava is so rich and it went really well with the crispy exteriors.

After the empty plate is cleared from our table (mind you, our table was pretty small), we had the Matcha Croissant. This is DA BOMB, I tell you.

Now, excuse me while I posted pictures of the REALLY flowy matcha sauce leaking from the croissant.

These pictures really speak a thousand words because the taste is indescribable in a good way. I really love it, so much that I would not mind another one right now!

This is not the end of our meal at Antoinette. I bought some cheese tarts home, so YAY! Once again, I went for Salted Yolk Cheese Tart ($3) and Matcha Cheese Tart ($2.60).

The top of the cheese chart looks well baked...

Once I cut it open and slipped it into my mouth, I could only "mhmmm" my way through. In my opinion, it tasted better than Prima Deli's Salted Yolk Cheese Tart. Antoinette's ones are cheaper and the cheese is softer as well. Well, to each of his own!

Again, I preferred the Matcha flavoured one better. I guess too much Salted Egg makes one sicked of the taste while Matcha just doesn't.

Mhm hmm~

In case you want to give other flavours a try, Antoinette also has Grand Cru Chocolate Cheese Tart ($3), Vanilla Cheese Tart ($2.60) and Salted Caramel Cheese Tart ($2.60).

For now, I shall think of where to go next to fulfill my food cravings!

Address

30 Penhas Road (off Lavender Street)

Singapore 208188

Nearest MRT: Lavender

Or

333A Orchard Road

Mandarin Gallery #02-33/34

Singapore 238897

Nearest MRT: Somerset

Opening Hours

Penhas Branch

Mon-Thurs: 11am-10pm

Fri: 11am-11pm

Sat: 10am-11pm

Sun: 10am-10pm

Mandarin Gallery

Mon-Sun: 11am-10pm

Website

http://www.antoinette.com.sg/

FEATURED POST
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
FOLLOW Stefanie
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page