top of page

Food Review @ Paddy Hills

We are almost entering the third week of April and even if everyone is busy with school or work, there is always time for Cafe food! Therefore, I managed to drag one of my eating buddies out to visit Paddy Hills with me.

I think the interiors of Paddy Hills is nice and cozy. The menus are of a pretty navy blue too (but I forgot to take a photo of it due to all that excitement of being away from cafes for far too long).

Since we were at Paddy Hills for breakfast, how could we miss out on ordering the insta-worthy Berry Ricotta Hotcake ($23)? That was the first item we had in mind. As for whether it tasted as good as its looks, you shall see later.

We then spent some time looking at the menu and decided to order another 2 lunch dishes, Tonkutso Risotto ($25) and The Maze ($22), and a drink, Pink Panther ($9). Looking at the prices, it is definitely on the higher side but for some of the dishes, it is worth it.

Now, you might be wondering what the Pink Panther drink is. Made up of grapefruit, vanilla and loads of bubbles, it is a pink drink which leaves a sour, bitter taste after a sip of it.

Won't you agree with me that Pink Panther looks so pretty with the bubbles sprouting out from the top?

At first, I was thinking if the bubbles tasted of anything at all. I tried popping one and it tasted a little sweet. After a while, the bubbles popped by themselves... so it was not awkward trying to drink from the straw while having to avoid the bubbles bursting in my face (it is funny though).

One last close-up shot of the bubbles (<3!).

Off to the next item... we have the Berry Ricotta Hotcake. It looked exactly as the ones on Instagram. The pancake is topped with pretty fruits such as orange slices, raspberries and blueberries, as well as edible flowers, mascarpone and maple syrup.

As seen from the photo, it comes together with a cup of yoghurt (foam?). We attempted to pour the foam in a photogenic (LOL, I know.) way but we failed anyway. We ended up digging the yoghurt out with a knife, managed to make it flow for 1 second then it fell out blop by blop. HAHA.

Then again, I guess even if it is without the yoghurt, it would taste the same too.

Anyway, the fruits tasted great! The orange slices are sweet and crunchy, love it. Sadly, the hotcake tasted like a butter cake. Expected it to taste more special? Maybe this is just how a Ricotta Hotcake tasted like, so no more Ricotta Hotcake for me. Ever. Unless it is cheaper, maybe.

Nevertheless, the other lunch dishes are all delicious! Since our table was rather small, I had the Tonkutso Risotto and my friend had The Maze first before we exchanged the dishes.

Tonkutso Risotto is another pretty dish, but this time, Paddy Hills got the taste right. Although a tad salty, overall this dish is yummy. I mixed the rice, egg yolk, seaweed, spring onions together before eating them spoonful by spoonful. The texture and combination are on point. Thumb ups! With the pork, it was even better.

After I finished half of Tonkutso Risotto, it was my turn to have The Maze!

A maze of surprisingly delicate combination of creamy mash, chicken meatballs, sous vide egg and vegetables, The Maze is definitely the BEST dish I had at Paddy Hills. The chicken meatballs are so juicy and full of flavours such that my words just would not do it justice.

We had fun poking at the egg too. Dip your chicken meatball into the egg yolk, and let your tastebuds have a party right in your mouth!

And we have finally come to the end of this long post. I would be back to try your dinner dishes, Paddy Hills! Next time, I would be smarter and take a bus to Paddy Hills instead of walking past 3 bus stops to get there under the hot, hot sun. Unless I had too much food and I need to burn off those calories.

Address

38 South Buona Vista Road

Singapore 118164

Nearest MRT: Haw Par Villa

Opening Hours

Mon-Fri: 10.30am-5pm; 6pm-9.30pm

Sat-Sun: 9am-5pm; 6pm-9.30pm

Website

https://www.facebook.com/paddyhills.sg/

FEATURED POST
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
FOLLOW Stefanie
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page