top of page

Food Review @ Platypus Lobster Shack

Lobster has once been in the trend for quite a period of time. Somehow, I missed out on it but it is never too late to have a lobster roll, right? Using that logic, my friend and I decided to visit Platypus Lobster Shack for a slightly more affordable lobster roll!

We almost missed Platypus Lobster Shack while we were walking past the rows of bars on both sides of the street. When we realised we have walked to the end of the Nankin Row, we wondered if we have missed the outlet only to realised we did!

Anyway, we got seated inside the outlet quickly and... so what do you eat when you visit Platypus Lobster Shack? Needless to say, we looked at the Lobster Rolls section first. Since it is my first Lobster Roll ever, we decided on The Traditional Lobster Roll ($19).

The crispy bread is filled with a generous amount of butter-poached lobster meat, topped with roasted-garlic mayonnaise, chives and sea salt. My first mouthful of the roll made me go "The bread is sooo nice!" Of course, the lobster meat is nice too except that I did not have any other lobster roll to compare the taste with.

If you do order a lobster roll, I would certainly recommend you to get a complete set ($22) with truffle crisps and a side salad! I could not stop muching on those truffle crisps which means I love them!

Although we looked at the Lobster Roll section before anything else, we managed to order an Urchin & Lobster Bisque for $16. This is an appetiser, so it came before our lobster roll did. Similarly, the taste of the roasted lobster and urchin broth tasted rich with the addition of double cream and Maris Piper potatoes!

If you do visit Platypus Lobster Shack, perhaps you could give other flavours of lobster roll a try? I certainly would! Another dish which I would have loved to try would be Crustacean Bowl ($19 for starter, $26 for main). I have seen rave reviews of the Crustacean Bowl but we did not have enough stomach space for it. Next time round, hmm?

Address

3 Pickering Street

#01-31 Nankin Row

Singapore 048660

Near Telok Ayer Station

Opening Hours

Mon-Fri: 6-10pm

Sat: 6-11pm

Website

https://www.facebook.com/PlatypusLobsterShack/timeline

(Menu on one of their tabs!)

FEATURED POST
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
FOLLOW Stefanie
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page