top of page

Food Review @ Joo Bar (Dinner)

It has been a few weeks since my last post, but I am still craving Korean food! I have visited Joo Bar for lunch earlier and due to the lack of food choices then, I decided to visit them again for dinner! I am so glad that I made another trip down because the food was awesome.

Just from the exterior of Joo Bar, I knew I would love the interior design. Everything from their exterior and interior designs to their menu designs, made the bar looks modern and stylish with their hexagons themed design.

Anyway, let's talk about their food and drinks! I am getting excited just thinking of their Makgeolli Sampler Set ($35). As Joo Bar brews its Makgeolli by itself and it is one of the Korean alcohol which I happened to like, I certainly could not give it a miss. What's more is that the Makgeolli Sampler Set would allow you to not only taste their home brew, but also 4 other flavours! From left to right, we had the original, yuzu, passion fruit, strawberry, and lychee makgeolli. We enjoyed the passion fruit and lychee flavoured ones very much.

Before our main dishes arrived, we were served some small appetizers. Of which, I could tell one is ikan bilis and the middle one is macaroni and the last one, probably onion? We love them all either way.

After which, our main dishes arrived and we were all salivating by then. We ordered a total of 3 main dishes to share between the 4 of us.

We started off with Kimchi Mac & Cheese ($14) which tasted pretty alright to me. I have expected the Mac & Cheese to be infused with more Kimchi taste. Anyhow, I guess it is great for people who do not like the strong taste of Kimchi. As a cheese lover, I could not say no to the dish! Look at that string of quattro cheese! A point to note is the kimchi is home-made by Joo Bar too.

Next up, one should never give their signature Mangalitsa pork a miss! This is really what Joo Bar is famous for, and we fell in love with it on first bite. We had the Slow Roasted Mangalitsa Belly ($32) which came with thick cut Mangalitsa pork belly, spicy radish salad and white yucha kimchi. Every bite of the pork is such a pleasure. I would be back for more Mangalitsa pork! :)

Lastly, we finished off our meal with an order of Honey Butter Chicks ($18). Oh man, they are done just right! The chicken tenders and tteokbokki go really well with the honey butter glaze. Out of the entire dish, I would say I miss those crispy and chewy fried tteokbokki! More please!

That being said, I would definitely want to pay them another visit for more Mangalitsa Pork and Makgeolli. Meanwhile, if I do find some free time, i would do another review on their Lunch menu.

What are you waiting for? Stop looking at these photos, eat them instead! :)

Address

5 Tan Quee Lan Street

Singapore 188094

Near Bugis Station

Opening Hours

11.30am-2.30pm (Lunch menu)

5.30pm-12am (Dinner menu)

Website

http://www.joo-bar.com/

FEATURED POST
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
FOLLOW Stefanie
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page