top of page

7 Places to Have Bingsu in Korea

After posting a series of posts on my trip in Korea, I realised I have visited quite a few Bingsu places. They are not all great places to have Bingsu, so let me highlight those that you should definitely visit and perhaps which you could probably give a miss! Let's start off with my favourite and... we shall go down the list.

Number one on the list: Huidong's Mom Cafe

(Click here to find out how to get there!)

I did a post on this yummy Patbingsu before. Even now, when I look at these photographs, I cannot help myself but to salivate for this again! Usually, most of the Patbingsu which I have tasted so far including those in Singapore, only have the red bean paste and soy powder on the top. Whereas for this, there are layers of red bean paste and soy powder below as well! This is not to mention that their ice is so smooth and they made all the rice cakes themselves too. THIS IS A MUST-VISIT!

Number two on the list: Korean Dessert Cafe

(Click here to find out how to get there!)

Once again, I wrote about the Traditional Injeolmi Bingsu from Korean Dessert Cafe before (Link above!). I would like to emphasize that they probably have great tasting Bingsu regardless of the flavours. I tried their seasonal flavour as well, which is the Blueberry Cheese Bingsu with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream. It is AWESOME too! So do pay them a visit if you want to taste flavours other than the Injeolmi one!

Number three on the list: Honey Drop Bingsu Cafe

(Click here to find out how to get there!)

This particular Bingsu Cafe is located in Busan and I accidentally discovered this place while walking back to my hostel. This Injeolmi Bingsu is somewhat different from the usual Bingsu, with the varieties of nuts and almond slices, as well as the soft serve ice-cream. It is definitely one of my TOP 3 places to go for Bingsu! :)

Number four on the list: Tea Therapy at Samcheongdong

(Click here to find out how to get there!)

If you have read my post about my trip to Insadong, you probably would know that this Tea Therapy Bingsu is special in its own way. It is no usual Bingsu, since it is decked up with buts, healthy beans and some sauce. This is a healthier version of Bingsu. However, the ice is a little coarse and I much prefer my Injeolmi Bingsu over this any other day. That being said, it is still worth a visit to taste a different kind of Bingsu!

Number five on the list: Paris Baguette

(Visit any branch which serves Bingsu!)

The only memory I have of this particular Patbingsu is there was insufficient rice cakes and red bean paste for the amount of ice they gave us. Other than that, I did not have much of a memorable impression of this Bingsu. You could probably give it a try if you have some time to spare and not much of an option nearby. On the other hand, I do not know if the Singapore's branch one taste any different from the Korea's ones though.

Number six on the list: Cafe Bene

(Visit any Cafe Bene branch!)

Let's just say that this Matcha Bingsu looks aesthetically pleasing to the eyes, but the taste fell short of our expectations. This Bingsu could taste so much better if the ice was not that coarse and maybe... the matcha ice-cream could have tasted more like matcha. Anyway, I love my Bingsu with finely shaved ice and not ice bits. Once again, this is what I thought of their Matcha Bingsu so maybe their other flavours taste better than this? I just hope their ice is more finely shaved! Hopefully, the Singapore's branch one is. I would probably check it out soon! Just one more thing, Cafe Bene serves great toast though! Click here to read about their awesome Honey Toast.

Number seven on the list: DeuxCremes Tarts

(Click here to find out how to get there!)

Another one of those times I find myself disappointed with Matcha Bingsu. The ice-cream was alright but the ice was really not alright. Say no to coarse ice bits, please! They could totally do better with more toppings too. So let's just stick to eating their tarts since that is what DeuxCremes Tarts is famous for.

On the last note, do let me know if there are any awesome places for Bingsu in Korea and Singapore! So far, I have not found any really good Bingsu in Singapore. The best I have tasted is at Oma Spoon and Namsaram.

Till the next post, ciao!

FEATURED POST
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
FOLLOW Stefanie
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page